Metadata: 3D hydrostatigraphic model of Nanaimo Lowlands

Metadata NAP : more info

Identification

Abstract

The study area is a coastal strip running from Nanoose to Deep Bay on eastern Vancouver Island (~580 km2). The 3D model was developed using existing driller's logs, published cross-sections and new data which include rotosonic coring, borehole geophysics logs, seismic reflection profiles and surficial geology mapping. The detailed surficial geology consists of 31 different units which, for modelling, are grouped into 9 major hydrostratigraphic units (from youngest to oldest): Capilano-Salish (sand aquifer), Capilano glaciomarine (silty clay aquitard), Vashon-Capilano (coarse sand and gravel aquifer), Vashon (till aquitard), Quadra (sand aquifer), Cowichan-Dashwood (compact silt aquitard), Dashwood-Mapleguard (sand aquifer), sedimentary bedrock and metamorphic bedrock (aquifer near surface with potential decreasing with depth). This succession of Late Pleistocene to Holocene sediments is up to 140 m thick and is present over most of the study area, thinning to the southwest with rising topography and bedrock outcrops. Capilano-Salish and Vashon-Capilano deposits are shallow and contain unconfined aquifers with relatively high vulnerability to surface contamination and low groundwater resource potential due to their limited thicknesses. Quadra Sand is the most exploited aquifer unit. It underlies the ubiquitous and low permeability Vashon till and it overlies Cowichan-Dashwood aquitard or bedrock. Quadra sediment has an average thickness of 19 m and it is generally above sea and river levels. This would minimize the potential of seawater intrusion and direct surface water extraction, respectively, in the event of intensive groundwater extraction in Quadra unit. The Quadra is an important aquifer, however only about one-third of its thickness is saturated likely due to the overlying Vashon till aquitard that limits groundwater replenishment. Dashwood-Mapleguard sand is a lower confined aquifer unit that extends below sea level. It may have hydrogeological properties and resource potential similar to the Quadra sand, but it is present only in areas where the bedrock elevation is low, generally closer to the coastline. It may be more vulnerable to sea water intrusion, and remains poorly understood. The relatively low permeability regional bedrock aquifers of the Nanaimo Group are generally exploited only where the Quadra aquifer is not present. Their hydrogeological potential is poorly understood due to lack of subsurface data. This hydrostratigraphic model will be used to support groundwater flow modelling. The numerical files include thickness of each hydrostratigraphic unit in a georeferenced raster format.
Status:register completed
Title3D hydrostatigraphic model of Nanaimo Lowlands
Date2015-01-01 (register publication)
Date2015-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point :
City :
Administrative region :
Postal code :
Country :
Email nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Telephone
Online Resource
Citation group
register principalInvestigator
NameNicolas Benoît
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada - GSC Quebec
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
City : Québec Québec
Administrative region : Québec Québec
Postal code :
Country : Canada Canada
Email nicolas.benoit@canada.ca
Telephonetelephone voice; 1 (418) 6543646
Online Resource
Citation group
register originator
NameNicolas Benoît
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada - GSC Quebec
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
City : Québec Québec
Administrative region : Québec Québec
Postal code :
Country : Canada Canada
Email nicolas.benoit@canada.ca
Telephonetelephone voice; 1 (418) 6543646
Online Resource
Citation group
register custodian
NameFrancois Letourneau
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada - GSC Quebec
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
City : Québec Québec
Administrative region : Québec Québec
Postal code :
Country : Canada Canada
Email francois.letourneau@canada.ca
Telephonetelephone voice; 1 (418) 6543826
Online Resource
Presentation formregister modelDigital
SeriesOpen File7796

Related publication

  • Benoit, N., Paradis, D., Bednarski, J.M., Hamblin, T., and Russell, H.A.J., 2015. Three dimensional hydrostratigraphic model of the Nanoose-Deep Bay area, Nanaimo Lowland, British Columbia. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7796, 1 .zip file.

Goals

To support improved sustainable groundwater management of the Nanaimo Lowland, British Columbia (BC), a three-dimensional (3D) hydrostratigraphic model was developed for the Nanaimo Lowland aquifer system.

Keyword(s)

Thesaurus
TitleGovernment of Canada Core Subject Thesaurus
Date2004 (register creation)
Date2013-05-11 (register publication)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register custodian
Name
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Library and Archives Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister
TermHydrogeology
Thesaurus
TitleNRCan - GSC - Hydrogeology - Thesaurus
Date2009-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister thème
TermGroundwater
Thesaurus
TitleNRCan - GSC - Hydrogeology - Thesaurus
Date2009-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister produit
Term3D Model
Thesaurus
TitleNRCan - GSC - Hydrogeology - Thesaurus
Date2009-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister thème
TermAquifer
Thesaurus
TitleNRCan - GSC - Hydrogeology - Thesaurus
Date2009-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister endroit
TermNanoose - Deep Bay area
Thesaurus
TitleNRCan - GSC - Hydrogeology - Thesaurus
Date2009-01-01 (register creation)
Edition
Edition date
Citation group
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregister thème
TermQuaternary
Spatial representationregister grid
Resolution
Languageeng; CAN
Character encodingutf8
Thematic categorygeoscientificInformation
ExtentLocalisation
-124.833000000,49.167000000;-124.500000000,49.500000000
Supplemental information

Distribution

Specific information related to data distribution
Format
NameASCII GRID
Versionnot applicable

Distributor

Contact
register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point :
City :
Administrative region :
Postal code :
Country :
Email nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Telephone
Online Resource

Distributor

Contact
register distributor
NameEric Boisvert
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada - GSC Quebec
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
City : Québec Québec
Administrative region : Québec Québec
Postal code :
Country : Canada Canada
Email eric.boisvert2@canada.ca
Telephonetelephone voice; 1 (418) 6543705
Online Resource

Transfer options


Quality


Quality description scope :register dataset

Lineage

Message Date lineage
Lineage is the description of the sources and steps used to create the current dataset.


Introduction
Process step Sources
The unconsolidated sediment in the study area is comprised of marine, fluvial and glacial materials of Pleistocene and Holocene age. They generally form an extensive cover and can exceed 100 m in thickness. The Nanaimo Lowland is covered by a succession of two groups of glacial deposits (Vashon and Dashwood) separated by non-glacial deposits (Cowichan Head formation) and proglacial outwash deposits (Mapleguard and Quadra), which are postglacial marine and fluvial deposits. The architecture of the aquifer system is defined with 9 hydrostratigraphic units, which are ordered according to their relative chronology, as follows from top (younger) to bottom (older): I. Capilano-Salish (aquifer): Composed of deltaic and fluvial sediments close to main rivers. II. Capilano Glaciomarine (aquitard): The study area is covered by thick glaciomarine and marine deposits that are relatively impermeable due to their mostly fine grain-size. III. Vashon-Capilano Coarse (aquifer): Composed of coarse glaciofluvial outwash gravel and sand deposits located at the mountain/lowland junction. IV. Vashon Till (aquitard): Over the lowland, Vashon Drift tends to be a sandy diamicton except within some valleys where the matrix is more clayey. Vashon Drift also includes sand and gravel in eskers, kame terraces, and ice-contact fans and deltas. V. Quadra (aquifer): The Quadra Sand consists of horizontally and cross-stratified, well-sorted sand with minor silt and gravel. Quadra is interpreted to be outwash deposited during the transition from non-glacial to glacial conditions at the onset of the Fraser Glaciation. In general the Quadra sands can be regarded as proglacial outwash formed subaerially on outwash plains. It is present almost everywhere over the study area except along the main rivers where it has been eroded by rivers or cut-and-filled by the Vashon till. The Quadra Sand is the most important water-bearing unit in the study area. VI. Cowichan-Dashwood (aquitard): Dashwood Drift is generally comprised of muddy diamicton glaciomarine sediment overlain by cobbles and gravel. Cowichan Head Formation unconformably overlies the Dashwood Drift. The formation has been divided into a lower member of clayey silt and sand, and an upper member of sandy silt and gravel. VII. Dashwood-Mapleguard (aquifer): Mapleguard sediments are the oldest Pleistocene deposits present in the Nanaimo Lowland. They are composed of bedded sand, silt, clay and minor gravel. Mapleguard proglacial outwash deposits could be coarser than the Quadra Sand and are expected to have good aquifer potential; however, the vertical and spatial extend of this unit is not well constrained. The grain-size of Mapleguard sediment is expected to be finer with depth and could transition into an aquitard unit. VIII. Bedrock - Sedimentary (aquifer): The sedimentary bedrock aquifer is mostly sandstone and conglomerate in the study area and generally has low to moderate aquifer potential especially when fractures are present. IX. Bedrock - Metamorphic (aquitard). Metamorphic and Intrusion bedrock in the area is generally considered to be an aquitard unit.
Standard recognized succession. Deep rotosonic wells.
The Hydrostratigraphic Modelling defines the distribution and thickness of the hydrostratigraphic units in 3D based on a synthesis of available geological and hydrogeological information. The integration of available data for the construction of the hydrostratigraphic model was mainly completed using Leapfrog® Hydro software. The lower contact of the model is fixed at an elevation of 400 m below sea level in the bedrock, whereas the top is constrained by the DEM. The 2D plane mesh resolution of the model was set to 70 m, which was applied to each contact surface. For purposes of modelling in the Leapfrog® environment, all basal unit contacts are defined as depositional surfaces. That is, younger surfaces do not cut older surfaces. The bedrock surface was interpolated from outcrop observations and bedrock-sediment contacts identified in public water well records and seismic surveys. The bedrock elevation was thus estimated by kriging with external drift on the DEM using an omnidirectional variogram with four structures (variance proportion, range in meters): (i) nugget (0.3, 0); (ii) spherical (24.9, 1240); (iii) Gaussian (31.2, 6076); and (iv) spherical (43.6, 7688). The interpolated bedrock surface generated with SGeMS was then integrated within LeapFrog® Hydro as a grid surface. Note that some wells that were drilled in deep sediment, without intercepting bedrock, were used as a bedrock surface maximum. All other contact surfaces that correspond to unconsolidated sediments were defined in Leapfrog® Hydro and constrained between the DEM and the bedrock topography using existing stratigraphic columns and cross-sections, the updated surficial geology map, rotosonic cores and seismic surveys. Elevation constraints were also imposed on some hydrostratigraphic units according to their respective depositional environment. When well depths and geological descriptions allowed, hydrostratigraphic information extracted from public water well records were also used to interpolate sediment contact surfaces.
The hydrostratigraphic model was built from existing geological information and additional data collected specifically for this project. The compilation of existing data includes: Digital Elevation Model (DEM) at a 30x30 m grid resolution; Public wells database: After filtering and validation 708 bedrock wells and 570 surficial wells were retained. Surficial geological map including stratigraphic columns and a cross-section. Data collected for this project include: Seismic reflection surveys: 42 km of two dimensional (2D) surveys collected along 15 lines; Rotosonic coring: 3 cores of surficial sediments ranging from 65 to 140 m; Borehole geophysics: surveys in 5 wells (4 surficial and 1 bedrock) that include gamma, induction, temperature, fluid resistivity, magnetic susceptibility and compressional (p-wave) and shear (s-wave) waves logs.


Technical details and constraints

File identifierbb8e7bfc-8b29-0421-718d-a420c72a9a0d
Languageeng; CAN
Character encodingregister utf8
Hierarchical classificationregister dataset
Date2017-03-24
Metadata standardNorth American Profile of ISO 19115:2003 - Geographic information - Metadata
VersionCAN/CGSB-171.100-2009
Constraints
Update frequencyregister asNeeded

Regionalisation

Metadata are available in those languages (You can use language menu item in the top menu bar to switch language):
Language code Pays Encodage
register Frenchregister Canadaregister utf8

Geographic Reference System

Reference System codeEPSG:26910
Registerhttp://www.epsg-registry.org/
Version6.14

Metadata Contact

register pointOfContact
Name
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point :
City :
Administrative region :
Postal code :
Country :
Email nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Telephone
Online Resource
register pointOfContact
NameFrancois Letourneau
OrganisationGovernment of Canada; Natural Resources Canada; Geological Survey of Canada - GSC Quebec
Position
Information
AddressDelivery point : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
City : Québec Québec
Administrative region : Québec Québec
Postal code :
Country : Canada Canada
Email francois.letourneau@canada.ca
Telephonetelephone voice; 1 (418) 6543826
Online Resource

Metadonnées: Modèle hydrostratigraphique 3D des Basses-Terres de Nanaimo

Métadonnées PNA : plus d'info

Identification

Résumé

La région d'étude est une bande côtière qui s'étend de Nanoose à Deep Bay, sur la côte est de l'Île de Vancouver (~ 580 km2). Le modèle 3D a été développé à l'aide de données de forage existantes, de coupes transversales publiées et de nouvelles données qui incluent du carottage rotosonique, des levés géophysiques en forage, des profils de réflexion sismique et la cartographie géologique de surface. La géologie de surface détaillée est composée de 31 unités différentes qui, pour la modélisation, sont regroupées en 9 unités hydrostatigraphiques principales (des plus jeunes au plus anciens): Capilano-Salish (aquifère sableux), Capilano glaciomarin (aquitard silteux argileux), Vashon-Capilano (aquifère de sable grossier et de gravier), Vashon (aquitard de till), Quadra (aquifère sableux), Cowichan-Dashwood (aquitard silteux compact), Dashwood-Mapleguard (aquifère sableux), socle sédimentaire et socle métamorphique (aquifère près de la surface avec un potentiel décroissant avec la profondeur). Cette succession de sédiments du Pléistocène supérieur à l'Holocène peut atteindre 140 m d'épaisseur et est présent sur la majeure partie de la région d'étude, l'épaisseur diminue vers le sud-ouest avec la topographie qui s'élève et le socle qui affleure. Les dépôts de Capilano-Salish et de Vashon-Capilano sont peu profonds et contiennent des aquifères non confinés qui ont une vulnérabilité relativement élevée à la contamination de surface et un faible potentiel de ressources en eau souterraine en raison de leur épaisseur limitée. Le sable de Quadra est l'unité d'aquifères la plus exploitée. Elle est sous-jacente au till de Vashon qui est omniprésent et a une faible perméabilité et recouvre l'aquitard de Cowichan-Dashwood ou le socle. Les sédiments de Quadra ont une épaisseur moyenne de 19 m et il est généralement au-dessus du niveau de la mer et des rivières. Cela permettrait de minimiser les risques d'infiltration d'eau de mer et d'extraction directe de l'eau en surface, en cas d'extraction intensive des eaux souterraines dans l'unité de Quadra. Le Quadra est un aquifère important, mais seulement environ un tiers de son épaisseur est saturé probablement en raison de l'aquitard de Vashon sus-jacent qui limite le réapprovisionnement en eau souterraine. Le sable de Dashwood-Mapleguard est une unité d'aquifères confinés inférieure qui s'étend sous le niveau marin. Il pourrait avoir des propriétés hydrogéologiques et un potentiel de ressource semblables au sable du Quadra, mais il est présent seulement dans les zones où le socle profond, généralement plus près du littoral. Il pourrait être plus vulnérable à l'infiltration d'eau de mer et reste mal compris. Les aquifères rocheux régionaux à relativement faible perméabilité du groupe de Nanaimo sont généralement exploités uniquement là où l'aquifère de Quadra n'est pas présent. Leur potentiel hydrogéologique est mal compris en raison du manque de données du sous-sol. Ce modèle hydrostatigraphique sera utilisé pour la modélisation des écoulements souterrains. Les fichiers numériques présentent l'épaisseur de chaque unité hydrostratigraphique dans un formation de grille géoréférencée.
Statut:registre complété
TitreModèle hydrostratigraphique 3D des Basses-Terres de Nanaimo
Date2015-01-01 (registre publication)
Date2015-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison :
Ville :
Région administrative :
Code Postal :
Pays :
Courriel nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Téléphone
Ressources en ligne
Groupe cité
registre chercheurPrincipal
NomNicolas Benoît
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada - CGC Québec
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
Ville : Québec Québec
Région administrative : Québec Québec
Code Postal :
Pays : Canada Canada
Courriel nicolas.benoit@canada.ca
Téléphonetelephone voix; 1 (418) 6543646
Ressources en ligne
Groupe cité
registre créateur
NomNicolas Benoît
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada - CGC Québec
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
Ville : Québec Québec
Région administrative : Québec Québec
Code Postal :
Pays : Canada Canada
Courriel nicolas.benoit@canada.ca
Téléphonetelephone voix; 1 (418) 6543646
Ressources en ligne
Groupe cité
registre conservateur
NomFrançois Létourneau
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada - CGC Québec
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
Ville : Québec Québec
Région administrative : Québec Québec
Code Postal :
Pays : Canada Canada
Courriel francois.letourneau@canada.ca
Téléphonetelephone voix; 1 (418) 6543826
Ressources en ligne
Représentationregistre modèleNumérique
SérieOpen File7796

Publication associée

  • Benoit, N., Paradis, D., Bednarski, J.M., Hamblin, T., and Russell, H.A.J., 2015. Three dimensional hydrostratigraphic model of the Nanoose-Deep Bay area, Nanaimo Lowland, British Columbia. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7796, 1 .zip file.

Buts

Un modèle hydrostratigraphique 3D du système d'aquifères des Basses-Terres de Nanaimo a été développé afin de supporter une gestion durable des eaux souterraines dans les Basses-Terres de Nanaimo en Colombie-Britannique.

Mot(s) clé(s)

Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus des sujets de base du gouvernement du Canada
Date2004 (registre création)
Date2013-05-11 (registre publication)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre conservateur
Nom
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre
TermesHydrogéologie
Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus RNCan - CGC - Hydrogéologie
Date2009-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre theme
TermesEau sousterraine
Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus RNCan - CGC - Hydrogéologie
Date2009-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre product
TermesModèle 3D
Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus RNCan - CGC - Hydrogéologie
Date2009-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre theme
TermesAquifère
Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus RNCan - CGC - Hydrogéologie
Date2009-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre place
TermesRégion de Nanoose - Deep Bay
Thesaurus
TitreThésaurus RNCan - CGC - Hydrogéologie
Date2009-01-01 (registre création)
Édition
Date de l'édition
Groupe cité
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationCommission Géologique du Canada - Geological Survey of Canada
Position
Information
Typeregistre theme
TermesQuaternaire
Représentation spatialeregistre grille
Résolution
Langueeng; CAN
Jeu de charactèresutf8
Catégorie ThématiquegeoscientificInformation
EmpriseLocalisation
-124.833000000,49.167000000;-124.500000000,49.500000000
Informations supplémentaires

Distribution

Informations spécifiques au mode de distribution des données
Format
NomASCII GRID
Versionnot applicable

Distributeur

Contact
registre contact
Nom
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison :
Ville :
Région administrative :
Code Postal :
Pays :
Courriel nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Téléphone
Ressources en ligne

Distributeur

Contact
registre distributeur
NomÉric Boisvert
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada - CGC Québec
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
Ville : Québec Québec
Région administrative : Québec Québec
Code Postal :
Pays : Canada Canada
Courriel eric.boisvert2@canada.ca
Téléphonetelephone voix; 1 (418) 6543705
Ressources en ligne

Option de Transfert


Qualité


Domaine de la description de la qualité:registre jeuDonnées

Lignage

Message Lignage des données
Le lignage des données est la description des sources de données qui ont été utilisées pour construire le présent jeu de données.


Introduction
Étape Sources
Les sédiments non consolidés dans la région d'étude sont constitués de matériaux marins, fluviaux et glaciaires d'âge Pleistocène et Holocène. Ils forment généralement une couverture étendue et peuvent dépasser 100 m d'épaisseur. Les Basses-Terres de Nanaimo sont couvertes par une séquence de deux groupes de dépôts glaciaires (Vashon et Dashwood) séparés par des dépôts non glaciaires (formation Cowichan Head) et des dépôts proglaciaires (Mapleguard et Quadra) qui sont des dépôts postglaciaires marins et fluviaux. L'architecture du système d'aquifère est définie à l'aide de 9 unités hydrostatigraphiques, qui sont classées selon leur chronologie relative, du sommet (plus jeune) à la base (plus ancien): I. Capilano-Salish (aquifère): Composé de sédiments deltaïques et fluviaux près des principaux cours d'eau. II. Capilano Glaciomarin (aquitard): La région d'étude est couverte d'épais dépôts glaciomarins et marins relativement imperméables en raison de leur granulométrie généralement fine. III. Vashon-Capilano Grossier (aquifère): Composé de dépôts fluvioglaciaires grossiers et de dépôts d'épandage de sable et de graviers situés à la jonction montagne/Basses-Terres. IV. Till de Vashon (aquitard): Au-dessus des Basses-Terres, le Drift de Vashon a tendance à être un diamicton sableux sauf dans certaines vallées où la matrice est plus argileuse. Le Drift de Vashon comprend également du sable et du gravier dans des eskers, des terrasses de kame, et des cônes d'épandage et deltas juxtaglaciaires. V. Quadra (aquifère): Le Sable de Quadra est composé de sable avec des stratifications horizontales et en entrecroisées, bien trié, avec peu de silt et de gravier. Le Quadra est interprété comme étant un dépôt de d'épandage du passage des conditions non glaciaires aux conditions glaciaires au début de la glaciation du Fraser. Généralement, les sables de Quadra peuvent être considérés comme un dépôt d'épandage subaérien proglaciaire formé dans des plaines d'épandage. Il est présent presque partout dans la région d'étude sauf le long des cours d'eau principaux où il a été érodé par des rivières ou érodé et rempli par le till de Vashon. Le Sable de Quadra est l'unité contenant de l'eau la plus importante dans la zone d'étude. VI. Cowichan-Dashwood (aquitard): Le Drift de Dashwood est généralement composée de diamictons boueux glaciomarins surmontés de galets et de gravier. La Formation de Cowichan Head repose en discordance sur le Drift de Dashwood. La formation a été divisée en un membre inférieur compose de silt argileux et de sable, et un membre supérieur composé de silt sableux et de gravier. VII. Dashwood-Mapleguard (aquifère): Les sédiments du Mapleguard sont les plus anciens dépôts du Pléistocène présents dans les Basses-Terres de Nanaimo. Ils sont composés de lits de sable, de silt, d'argile et de gravier. Les dépôts de d'épandage proglaciaire de Mapleguard pourraient être plus grossiers que le sable de Quadra et devraient donc avoir un bon potentiel aquifère. Cependant, l'extension verticale et spatiale de cette unité n'est pas bien limitée. La granulométrie du sédiment de Mapleguard devrait devenir plus fine avec la profondeur et pourrait se transformer en u aquitard. VIII. Socle - sédimentaire (aquifère): L'aquifère du socle sédimentaire est principalement composé de grès et de conglomérat dans la zone d'étude et a généralement un potentiel aquifère faible à modéré, surtout lorsque des fractures sont présentes. IX. Socle - Métamorphique (aquitard). Le socle métamorphique est généralement considéré comme une unité aquitard dans la région.
Séquence standard reconnue. Forages rotosoniques profonds.
La modélisation hydrostratigraphique détermine la distribution et l'épaisseur des unités hydrostratigraphiques en 3D en fonction de la synthèse des informations géologiques et hydrogéologiques disponibles. L'intégration des données disponibles pour la construction du modèle hydrostratigraphique a principalement été réalisée à l'aide du logiciel Leapfrog® Hydro. Le contact inférieur du modèle est fixé à une élévation de 400 m sous le niveau de la mer dans le socle, tandis que le sommet est contraint par le DEM. La résolution 2D des grilles du modèle a été fixée à 70 m, qui a été appliqué à chaque surface de contact. Pour les besoins de la modélisation dans Leapfrog® Hydro, tous les contacts de base des unités ont été définis comme des surfaces de dépôt. Autrement dit, les surfaces plus jeunes ne coupent pas les surfaces plus anciennes. La surface du socle été interpolée à partir des observations d'affleurement et des contacts socle-sédiment identifiés dans les données de forage et les relevés sismiques. L'élévation du socle a ensuite été estimée par krigeage avec une dérive externe basée sur le DEM en utilisant un variogramme omnidirectionnel à quatre structures (proportion de variance, portée en mètres): (i) nugget (0,3, 0); (Ii) sphérique (24,9, 1240); (Iii) Gaussien (31,2, 6076); et (iv) sphérique (43,6, 7688). La surface du socle interpolée générée avec SGeMS a ensuite été intégrée dans LeapFrog® Hydro en tant que grille. Notez que certains puits qui ont été forés dans des sédiments profonds, sans intercepter le socle, ont été utilisés comme maximum de la surface du socle. Toutes les autres surfaces de contact qui correspondent à des sédiments non consolidés ont été définies dans Leapfrog® Hydro et contraintes entre le DEM et la topographie du socle en utilisant les colonnes stratigraphiques et les sections transversales existantes, la carte géologique de surface, les carottes rotosoniques et les levés sismiques. Des contraintes d'élévation ont également été imposées à certaines unités hydrostatigraphiques en fonction de leur environnement de dépôt respectif. Lorsque les profondeurs de puits et les descriptions géologiques le permettaient, les données hydrostatigraphiques extraites des rapports de forage ont également servi à interpoler les surfaces de contact des sédiments.
Le modèle hydrostratigraphique a été construit à partir d'informations géologiques existantes et de données additionnelles acquises dans le cadre de ce projet. Les données existantes sont : Le modèle numérique d'élévation (DEM) à une résolution de 30mx30m; La base de données des puits publics : après le filtrage et la validation, 708 forages du socle et 570 forages des dépôts de surface ont été retenus; La carte de la géologie de surface incluant les colonnes stratigraphiques et une coupe transversale. Les données acquises dans le cadre de ce projet sont : Des levés de sismique réflexion : 42 km de levés 2D acquis le long de 15 lignes; Du carottage rotosonique : 3 carottes de sédiments superficiels de 65 à 140 m; De la géophysique en forage : levés dans 5 puits (4 superficiel et 1 socle) qui incluent les enregistrements de rayon gamma, d'induction, de la résistivité du fluide, de la susceptibilité magnétique et des ondes de compression (onde-p) et de cisaillement (onde-s).


Détails techniques et contraintes

Identifiant du fichierbb8e7bfc-8b29-0421-718d-a420c72a9a0d
Languefra; CAN
Jeu de caractèresregistre utf8
Niveau hiérarchiqueregistre jeuDonnées
Date2017-03-24
Standard de métadonnéesProfil nord-américain de la norme ISO 19115:2003 - Information géographique - Métadonnées
VersionCAN/CGSB-171.100-2009
Contraintes
Fréquence des mises-à-jourregistre auBesoin

Régionalisation

Les métadonnées sont disponibles dans ces langues (vous pouvez utiliser le menu au haut de la page pour change la langue):
Code de langue Pays Encodage
registre Frenchregistre Canadaregistre utf8

Système de référence géographique

Code du Système de référenceEPSG:26910
Registrehttp://www.epsg-registry.org/
Version6.14

Contacts pour les métadonnées

registre contact
Nom
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison :
Ville :
Région administrative :
Code Postal :
Pays :
Courriel nrcan.gsc-geosciencedata-donneesgeoscience-cgc.rncan@canada.ca
Téléphone
Ressources en ligne
registre contact
NomFrançois Létourneau
OrganisationGouvernement du Canada; Ressources naturelles Canada; Commission géologique du Canada - CGC Québec
Position
Information
AdressePoint de livraison : 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage 490, rue de la Couronne, 3e étage
Ville : Québec Québec
Région administrative : Québec Québec
Code Postal :
Pays : Canada Canada
Courriel francois.letourneau@canada.ca
Téléphonetelephone voix; 1 (418) 6543826
Ressources en ligne